Duplicated sessions occur when browser quits without Tablerone saving tab changes made to a session. (Fresh unsaved session get logged in the Archive as “closed unsaved”.)

This happens because the browser restores session(s) on start-up, but the same tabs are now assigned to a new window with a different ID from the last time. Thus tricking Tablerone into interpreting it as a new session.

Solution

Unfortunately, the only solutions at this moment are:

  1. Delete older versions when duplication happens
  2. Move missing tabs from the new to old session to preserve tagging, favourite, and notes
  3. Be mindful about manually re-saving sessions

Roadmap

We are reconsidering the current implementation and working on an improvement. We aim to bring the reliability of auto-saving combined with the power to manually control save over-rides.